New faces on the ESR Executive Council


As every year, the ESR presidency changed hands at the European Congress of Radiology in March, with the new president, Prof. Guy Frija, from Paris, taking the reins from Prof. Gabriel P. Krestin. At the same time, the ECR 2014 Congress President, Prof. Valentin E. Sinitsyn, from Moscow, took over from Prof. José I. Bilbao as chairman of the Congress Committee.

In addition to these regular changes, a number of other positions on the Executive Council have been filled by new faces. First, Prof. Bernd Hamm, from Berlin, has moved up the chain into Prof. Sinitsyn’s position as 1st Vice-Chairperson of the Congress Committee, with Prof. Katrine Åhlström Riklund, from Umea, Sweden, elected to the role of 2nd Vice-Chairperson.

Prof. Luis Donoso, from Barcelona, was elected 2nd Vice-President of the ESR and therefore also takes on the role of Strategic Review Committee Chairman. Filling Donoso’s previous position of National Societies Committee Chairperson is Prof. Deniz Akata, from Ankara.

Dr. E. Jane Adam, from London, has taken on the position of interim Professional Organisation Committee Chairperson, stepping up from chairing the Subcommittee on Audit and Standards and taking the place of Prof. Yves Menu, from Paris, who has vacated his position on the Executive Council and taken on the position of Scientific Director of the European Board of Radiology.

And finally, Prof. Hans-Ulrich Kauczor, from Heidelberg, moves into the role of Research Committee Chairperson.

We wish all the new incumbents the very best in their new roles.

To find out more about who’s who at the ESR, visit the organisation page on our website.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Comments are closed.